Lasting long – Coming soon

About the exhibition:

From 23 August till 27 October 2019 twelve peep-boxes will show up on different squares of the city. Residents and visitors can catch a glimpse of the well-known view of the Minster, seen from the Kleinbasel bank of the Rhine. However, the cathedral has disappeared. Instead, one sees a completely different structure or even a gaping void. The moment of irritation directs the focus to the place and sensitizes us to a new, differentiated perception of the cathedral itself. Local and international artists and architects will contribute their point of view. Each peep box will contain a visual answer to the question «what would be important to us if the cathedral was lost?» The call remains completely open as to how the participants will rethink the site. Only the initial image and the method of photomontage are specified.

https://www.1000jahre.ch/

 

Unknown Artist, Photograph, ca. 1844, Daguerreotype on silver-plated copper.

Regarding the question  “What if… the Minster were not there anymore?” we would like to ask back the question “What if… the Minster would have been built differently?”. Already the orientation of the building today differs from the norm: The choir points to North-East, and not to East as is usually the case in Christian sacred buildings. What would the city silhouette look like were the Minster to face towards the Rhine? How would it feel to be on the Minster square, if it opened up towards the river? Would this resonate with current urban developments in the city, which is more and more orienting itself towards the water, due to a an increasing popularity of the riverfront as a place of leisure? Might it even be a symbolic sign of unity of the two districts of Gross- and Klein-Basel, that historically and until today have been characterized by rivalry? On closer inspection, it might be for a reason that the symbolic figure of the “Vogel Gryff” points his backside in the direction of Gross-Basel at the annual traditional dance – after all, the Basel Minster does the same thing in the direction of Klein-Basel.

Architecture shapes our cities, and cities shape our society. It was one of the great myths of modernism that architecture can change society, but still, they interact with each other. We are fascinated by imagining what kind of spatial, political and social implications a different orientation of the Minster might have had – how the same place could be reframed with a new reading. Who knows: maybe everything would still be as it always was, only, today, the “Vogel Gryff” would not display his backside, but throw kisses, in the direction of Gross-Basel.

Weyell Zipse & Hörner, 2019

Lasting long – Coming soon

Zur Ausstellung:

Zwölf Guckkästen bevölkern vom 23. August bis 27. Oktober 2019 verschiedene Plätze der Stadt. Anwohner und Besucher erhaschen darin einen Blick auf die bekannte Ansicht des Münsterhügels vom Kleinbasler Rheinufer her. Allerdings: Das Münster ist verschwunden. Stattdessen sieht man ein ganz anderes Gebilde oder sogar eine klaffende Leerstelle. Das Moment der Irritation lenkt den Fokus auf den Ort und sensibilisiert auf eine neue, differenzierte Wahrnehmung des Münsters selbst. Bespielt werden die Guckkästen durch lokale und internationale Künstler und Architekten mit dem Aufruf, eine visuelle Antwort auf die Fragestellung «was läge uns am Herzen, wenn das Münster abhanden käme?» zu platzieren. Dabei bleibt in der Ausschreibung völlig offen, wie die Teilnehmer den Ort neu denken. Einzig das Ausgangsbild sowie die Umsetzung in Form einer Fotomontage werden vorgegeben.

https://www.1000jahre.ch/

 

Unbekannter Künstler, Fotografie, ca. 1844, Daguerreotopie auf versilberter Kupferplatte.

Auf die Frage „Was wäre wenn… uns das Münster abhanden käme?“, möchten wir gerne die Gegenfrage stellen „Was wäre wenn… das Münster anders gebaut worden wäre?“. Bereits die Ausrichtung des heutigen Baus weicht von der Norm ab: Der Chor zeigt nach Nordosten und nicht nach Osten wie bei christlichen Sakralbauten sonst üblich. Wie würde die Stadtsilhouette zum Rhein aussehen, wenn das Münster sich diesem zuwenden würde? Wie würde sich ein zum Wasser hin geöffneter Münsterplatz anfühlen? Würde dies mit aktuellen stadträumlichen Entwicklungen der Stadt korrespondieren, die sich durch die steigende Popularität des Rheinufers als Freizeitort kontinuierlich zum Fluss hin orientiert? Wäre es gar ein symbolisches Zeichen für die Einheit der beiden Stadtteile Gross- und Klein-Basel, die historisch und bis heute durch Rivalitäten geprägt sind? Bei genauerer Betrachtung ist es vielleicht kein Wunder, dass die Symbolfigur des Vogel Gryff beim alljährlichen traditionellen Tanz sein Hinterteil Richtung Gross-Basel streckt – tut doch das Basler Münster dasselbe in Richtung Klein-Basel.

Architektur prägt unsere Städte, und Städte unsere Gesellschaft. Es war eine der grossen Mythen des Modernismus, dass Architektur die Gesellschaft verändern kann, und doch stehen die beiden in einer Wechselwirkung. Wir finden es faszinierend uns vorzustellen was eine Drehung des Münsters für räumliche, politische und gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen gehabt hätte, wie derselbe Ort in einer neuen Lesart umgedeutet werden könnte. Wer weiss, vielleicht wäre auch alles gekommen wie es immer schon war, nur dass der Vogel Gryff statt sein Hinterteil zu zeigen, heute Kusshände in Richtung Gross-Basel werfen würde.

Weyell Zipse & Hörner, 2019